Tags

, , , , , ,


Yesterday was my first maternity photo shoot and although I’m pleased with how some of the photos turned out, I’m still a little disappointed.  I wonder if it is because I’m too hard on myself, possibly in some sort of funk, or is it just something that part-time (self-taught) photographers like myself experience every now and then?  Please be advised that I’m normally a very positive person, so I apologize in advance if this post seems like a downer. I just wish I would’ve captured more high-quality photos for the “Parents-to-be” 😉

First of all, I was all over the place this time around with regards to camera settings; and the result was that many of my pictures didn’t turn out (about 75 of 320), when I normally seem to have better luck.  It also didn’t help that I’m fighting a sinus infection so my head hurt and still does.

Secondly, even though the subject’s are the daughter and son-in-law (I know both) of a close friend, I still had some anxiety about taking their pictures.  I feel very comfortable sitting on the side-lines taking “candid” photos, but for whatever reason, I basically freeze up when I’m in a position where I need to direct people to do certain things or come up with on-the-spot ideas.

Taken with my Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi and Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.
Shutter Speed: 1/100 sec; Exposure Program: Aperture Priority; Aperture: f/5.6; ISO: 100; Focal Length: 120mm; no flash

Taken with my Canon EOS 40D and Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM.
Shutter Speed: 1/400 sec; Exposure Program: Manual; Aperture: f/6.3; ISO: 400; Focal Length: 50mm; no flash

Taken with my Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi and Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.
Shutter Speed: 1/500 sec; Exposure Program: Shutter Priority; Aperture: f/5.0; ISO: 200; Focal Length: 85mm; no flash

Taken with my Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi and Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.
Shutter Speed: 1/80 sec; Exposure Program: Aperture Priority; Aperture: f/5.6; ISO: 100; Focal Length: 130mm; no flash

Taken with my Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi and Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.
Shutter Speed: 1/30 sec; Exposure Program: Aperture Priority; Aperture: f/5.6; ISO: 100; Focal Length: 115mm; no flash

Taken with my Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi and Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.
Shutter Speed: 1/100 sec; Exposure Program: Aperture Priority; Aperture: f/5.6; ISO: 100; Focal Length: 85mm; no flash

Having explained part of my situation, I’m hoping that amateur and professional photographers alike can give me some words of wisdom and/or advice.  Feel free to critique these photos as I’m a big believer that constructive criticism will help me to become a better photographer!

LOL… Funny how this post just made me think of another one I can write, but one that won’t include pictures 🙂

– – – – –

All rights reserved; however, please feel free to share.

If you are interested in purchasing a print or downloading an image for personal or commercial use, please visit my SmugMug gallery.

If you are interested in information related to pain and dysfunction caused by muscular imbalances, please visit my Health & Wellness blog.

