Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I’ve had an interest in street photography for quite some time now, but just don’t feel comfortable taking pictures of people without their consent.  In addition, I feel a little timid about walking up to someone, asking to take their photograph.

As odd as this may sound, I think my fear (if that’s what you call it?) stems from a trip a girlfriend and I took to Los Angeles, Santa Monica, and Malibu back in 2001.  We specifically planned this trip around celebrity searching and once we got there, several appeared.  The unexpected thing was, I couldn’t snap one shot!  As soon as I was noticed (by most) with camera hanging by my side, they freaked out; clearly wanting to get as far away as possible.  There was one man in particular that quickly began walking in small continuous circles with no clue where to go.  Honestly, this made us feel bad, so we said “Hi” and went on our merry way.

I talked to a professional photographer friend of mine about this subject and he said that I should try “shooting from the hip”.  This sounded like a doable option, so I decided to give it a whirl when my family and I went to the Mason Heritage Festival this past Saturday.

Although these pictures may not technically fall under the category of street photography (despite the fact that most of them actually include the street… LOL!), it was still fun 🙂

This last picture was not shot from the hip, but I did want to include it because I like the view behind my reflection.

– – – – –

As always, thanks for visiting my blog and I hope you like what you see. All feedback is welcome!

COPYRIGHT NOTICE: Images on this blog are copyright of Nicole Ftacnik Photography and cannot be copied, downloaded, or used without my written permission. Feel free to contact me directly if you are interested in purchasing an image for commercial use or you can visit my photography website to purchase for print.

