Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Several years ago I bought a non-dedicated external flash unit for my camera(s) because I wasn’t ready to spend the higher dollar amounts on a dedicated one. In my opinion… A huge blunder on my part. Not only do feel I wasted $100 of which could’ve been put towards the dedicated brand, but as of last night, I realized that it most likely played a huge part in my insecurity with using flash period.

I’m not all that familiar with using artificial light (and prefer natural light); however, after receiving my new dedicated flash yesterday, I realized that it’s possibly not as hard to use as I once thought. The difference in picture quality was significant to me. It’s almost as if there wasn’t enough power with the non-dedicated flash. I wonder why else this could be?

I was so excited last night that I took a few shots of my husband in our kitchen using my 70-300mm f/4-5.6 lens. I did not custom WB, so the pictures look a little (or a lot?) warm (or is it cool? – so thoroughly confused… Hahaha!); I used my Fong Collapsible LightSphere with the White Dome; and, I adjusted the levels and contrast a tiny bit in Photoshop. The EXIF data shows my camera was set in manual mode, shutter speed was 1/85 sec, aperture was at f/5.6, my ISO was at 400, and the focal length was at 70mm for the first two pictures and 80mm for the third.

If I remember correctly, this first shot was taken with the flash aimed directly at him…

This second shot was with the flash bouncing off of the ceiling…

This third shot was with the flash bouncing off of the wall to my left…

Any thoughts, comments, suggestions, or words of wisdom?

– – – – –

As always, thanks for visiting my blog and I hope you like what you see. All feedback is welcome!

COPYRIGHT NOTICE: Images on this blog are copyright of Nicole Ftacnik Photography and cannot be copied, downloaded, or used without my written permission. Feel free to contact me directly if you are interested in purchasing an image for commercial use or you can visit my photography website to purchase for print.

