Tags

, , , , , , , ,


This past Saturday was an exciting day for an old friend and her family… Her 13-year old son was Bar Mitzvahed and I was honored to have been asked to photograph the ceremony and celebration; albeit nervous at the same time. It’s not like you get any “do-overs” with this one and I had several challenges to overcome.

The biggest challenge for me was that the temple had cathedral ceilings and flash photography was not permitted during the ceremony for religious reasons. In addition, I had to stay behind the pews or up in the balcony during the ceremony as well. I didn’t have a fast enough telephoto lens for this occasion so what was I to do? Well, for starters, I rented a 70-200mm f/2.8 lens. Thank you Lens Pro To Go!

The second challenge was that I’m not real familiar with using Custom WB. I’ve researched the subject a little and pretty much gathered that it is a must for indoor photography. That being said, I took a stab at it, but it didn’t work out too well. That’s okay though because I did read in one blog that if you shoot in RAW, it’s not necessary to take a Custom WB, which leads me to my next challenge.

Ugh… My CS2 isn’t compatible with my 40D RAW files. I’ve searched the internet for months trying to resolve this situation to no avail; however, I realized last minute (or was actually told) that I could use the Digital Photo Professional software that came with the camera. Duh!

In the end, it all worked out, despite the fact that the pictures have a little more noise than I would have liked because of having to bump up the ISO. I know I could have tweaked that during post-processing, but I try to do very little in Photoshop. Besides, the noise kind of grew on me… It somewhat gives that old time film look.

To protect the privacy of my friend, her family, and her friends; I decided to leave out pictures including them. Instead, here are a few of the temple looking across and down from the balcony. The location is absolutely stunning and I love how the combination of artificial light with the sunlight peaking it’s way through the stained glass lit up our surroundings during the special moment.

– – – – –

As always, thanks for visiting my blog and I hope you like what you see. All feedback is welcome!

COPYRIGHT NOTICE: Images on this blog are copyright of Nicole Ftacnik Photography and cannot be copied, downloaded, or used without my written permission. Feel free to contact me directly if you are interested in purchasing an image for commercial use or you can visit my photography website to purchase for print.

