Tags

, , , , , , ,


First and foremost… Hope y’all are having a WONDERFUL time during the 2011 Thanksgiving holiday!

After all of the food yesterday, we figured it would be good to get out and walk around today. As always, where was the question? We typically avoid going to downtown Cincinnati, but it was such a beautiful day and decided that it was time to do something different again… So southbound on I-71 was the direction we headed.

With camera in hand, I made it a goal of mine to only use my 50mm f/1.4 prime to capture the architectural lines in the city. I really wanted to take a stab at street photography, but knew right off the bat that I still don’t feel comfortable taking pictures of random people, with or without their permission. With that said, here is some of what I captured; and for a change, I am going to include one positive thought that I have about each one 😉

I like how the sunlight reflecting off of the windows on the adjacent building lights up the building in the center. (ISO 100, 1/1000 sec., f/5)

I like how this statue is in line with the edge of this building. (ISO 100, 1/500 sec., f/5)

As silly as this sounds, I like how I captured a bird in flight with this one. (ISO 100, 1/500 sec., f/5)

I like the patterns the sunlight made on these old windows. (ISO 100, 1/85 sec., f/3.5)

I like how half of this shot is in the shadows. (ISO 100, 1/800 sec., f/3.5)

I like the yellow fire hydrant next to my black and white clothing. (ISO 320, 1/85 sec., f1.4)

I like how the color of the sky is replicated in the windows. (ISO 100, 1/1000 sec., f/2.5)

I like the shadows of the fire escape combined with the details of this building. (ISO 100, 1/1000 sec., f/4)

I like how old this door looks. (ISO 100, 1/85 sec., f/4)

I like the composition of this shot. (ISO 100, 1/1600 sec., f/1.4)

I like how this shot is pretty much out of focus… HAHAHA! (ISO 100, 1/400 sec., f1/4)

Well, what to do YOU think?

– – – – –

As always, thanks for visiting my blog and I hope you like what you see. All feedback is welcome!

COPYRIGHT NOTICE: Images on this blog are copyright of Nicole Ftacnik Photography and cannot be copied, downloaded, or used without my written permission. Feel free to contact me directly if you are interested in purchasing an image for commercial use or you can visit my photography website to purchase for print.

