Tags

, , , , ,


(5D Mark II, 300mm, ISO 100, 2 sec @ f/7.1)

Please select the image to see the full aspect ratio.

This shot was somewhat experimental; however, I’m not quite able to describe what my experiment actually was because I’m still obviously learning photography techniques and the lingo that goes along with it.

What I can tell you is that I placed this mini-orchid in front of our computer monitor for backlighting in a dark room. Using the curves tool in Photoshop, I pulled down the line, which I noticed decreased the output and increased the input–Bahahaha… How obvious is it that I have no clue what I’m saying? 😉

The result was that the background became more dark, which in turn, made the orchid appear as if it is glowing.

I’m happy with how this image turned out! What do you think? Do you have a better way of describing what it was I was trying to do?

– – – – –

As always, thanks for visiting my blog and I hope you like what you see. All feedback is welcome!

All rights reserved; however, please feel free to share.

If you are interested in purchasing a print or downloading an image for personal or commercial use, please visit my SmugMug gallery.

If you are interested in information related to pain and dysfunction caused by muscular imbalances, please visit my Health & Wellness blog.

