Tags

, , , ,


(5D Mark II, 50mm, ISO 1600, 1/40 @ f/2.5)

Please select the image to see the full aspect ratio.

A few weeks back some friends of ours invited us to go to the 5th Annual Cincinnati Winter Beerfest with them this past Saturday. We kindly accepted since we haven’t seen them in a while, we’ve never been, and thought it would be a lot of fun; definitely something different to do. I’m not a huge beer connoisseur and was pleasantly surprised when my pallet ended up liking several of the darker beers… One of my favorites to sip on was an Oatmeal Stout.

While we were standing there searching for the next great beer to try, I took this shot of my husband and our friend, Chris. From this perspective, it appears that I may be really short and/or they are really tall. In reality, they are over 6 feet and I am 5’8″, but it’s not a massive difference. I took this while holding my camera down at my hip, which I probably should’ve done more frequently throughout the evening since I’m rather leery of taking pictures of strangers without their permission.

This image is blown-out in many areas, but there are a couple of things that caught my eye, which is why I decided to post it…

First, I like how the main focus is on my husband’s hand with the boys in the background searching intently on where to go next using the map, which by the way, wasn’t real accurate.

Secondly, I like how the rafters and light in the ceiling and the paper in my husband’s hand follows the primary diagonal while Chris’s head and glass of beer follows the secondary diagonal, giving it a criss-cross type feel. (I recently read a good book–Photographically Speaking by David duChemin–and he discussed primary and secondary diagonals.)

With that said, what are your thoughts?

– – – – –

As always, thanks for visiting my blog and I hope you like what you see. All feedback is welcome!

All rights reserved; however, please feel free to share.

If you are interested in purchasing a print or downloading an image for personal or commercial use, please visit my SmugMug gallery.

If you are interested in information related to pain and dysfunction caused by muscular imbalances, please visit my Health & Wellness blog.

