Tags

, , , , , , ,


(5D Mark II, 300mm, ISO 400, 1/250 @ f/11)

The Grand Sirenis all-inclusive resort, where we stayed while in Mexico, supposedly has the largest coral reef in the Riviera Maya. You can literally access it right from the beach, which is the main reason why we booked our vacation there.

Initially, my husband and I were not that impressed when snorkeling the moment after we arrived, but my daughter loved it considering it was her first time ever. A few days later, I was told by the both that the water cleared up and more fish appeared. At one point, my daughter jumped out of the ocean in lightning speed when she noticed a Barracuda staring her down, only inches from her face; right near the shoreline.

Anyway, here is an image of what I believe to be Brain Coral. What my daughter called “Beach Rocks” was right around the corner from the sandy beaches. This area of the resort was absolutely covered with coral and I would’ve loved to bring some home. Call me cheap, but I didn’t want to pay extra luggage costs due to the weight.

– – – – –

All rights reserved; however, please feel free to share.

If you are interested in purchasing a print or downloading an image for personal or commercial use, please visit my SmugMug gallery.

If you are interested in information related to pain and dysfunction caused by muscular imbalances, please visit my Health & Wellness blog.

